Author bio

Author Image

Steve Niles - book author

STEVE NILES is one of the writers responsible for bringing horror comics back to prominence, and was recently named by Fangoria magazine as one of it's "13 rising talents who promise to keep us terrified for the next 25 years."

Niles is currently working for the four top American comic publishers - Marvel, DC, Image and Dark Horse. He got his start in the industry when he formed his own publishing company called Arcane Comix, where he published, edited and adapted several comics and anthologies for Eclipse Comics. His adaptations include works by Clive Barker, Richard Matheson and Harlan Ellison.

Steve resides in Los Angeles in his bachelor pad with one cat. While there's no crawlspace, there is a questionable closet in one corner and no one is quite sure what is hidden in there...but we have an idea.

--from the author's website

Steve Niles is the author of books: 30 Days of Night, Vol. 1, 30 Days of Night, Vol. 2: Dark Days, I Am Legend, 30 Days of Night, Vol. 4: Return to Barrow, Mystery Society, 28 Days Later: The Aftermath, The October Faction, Vol. 1, Criminal Macabre (Criminal Macabre: A Cal McDonald Mystery #1), The Yattering and Jack, Freaks of the Heartland

Author Signature

Author Books

In a sleepy, secluded Alaska town called Barrow, the sun sets and doesn't rise for over thirty consecutive days and nights. From the darkness, across the frozen wasteland, an evil will come that will bring the residents of Barrow to their knees. The only hope for the town is the Sheriff and Deputy, husband and wife who are torn between their own survival and saving the town they love.
The 21st century has seen a horror comics renaissance, and it all started with Steve Niles and Ben Templesmith's frostbitten vampire saga 30 Days of Night. The original three issue series spawned a major motion picture and grabbed the attention of thousands of fans longing for an innovative tale of terror.

In Return to Barrow, Niles and Templesmith bring us, once again, to the snow-crusted Alaskan town where the setting sun ignites a new winter of terror for the beleagured townspeople. Brian Kitka is desperate to find out what happened to his brother three years ago, and becoming the new sheriff may get him the answers he needs. But some things are best left in the dark, and Brian will need more than just the help of a few old friends if anyone's going to be alive come sunrise.
Nick Hammond and Anastasia Collins are the Mystery Society -- and bring new meaning to "underground cult" status! Stealthily avoiding the authorities, this skulduggery duo spend their time and money righting wrongs committed in the world's underbellies.
Two idealistic scientists unwittingly developing the deadliest virus the world has ever known...A family making desperate choices as they struggle to survive the Infection's initial outbreak...A lone gunslinging survivor battling the Infected in a decimated London...Four original tales chronicling the greatest horror humanity has ever faced come together in a bloody conclusion as terrifying as the Rage Virus itself.

Written by horror master Steve Niles (creator of the classic 30 Days of Night) and illustrated by three of the most terrifyingly talented illustrators working in comics today, 28 Days Later: The Aftermath begins before the hit movieā€”and ends with a shocking revelation that leads into the events of the sequel, 28 Weeks Later.
The October Faction details the adventures of retired monster-hunter Frederick Allan and his family... which include a thrill-killer, a witch, and a warlock. Because sometimes crazy is the glue that binds a family together.
From the author of Savage Membrane and Guns, Drugs and Monsters comes thenewest Cal McDonald mystery. Full color.
Introducing Eclipse Graphic Novels, an exciting new series featuring some of the world's bestselling authors, together with top artists, destined to revolutionize the graphic novel.

The Yattering and Jack

What does Jack Polo do when a demonic denizen of hell comes to stay in his house? *Nothing.* The Yattering - the demon in question - is going crazy. He is one dangerous demon, ready to pounce...

A new dark fantasy graphic novel from the bestselling author of *Imajica* and *The Great and Secret Show.* Also included: a stunning adaptation of Clive Barker's story *How Spoilers Bleed.*
Trevor's monstrous little brother lives in the barn behind the house. The boy's only six years old, but he towers over his older brother, and possesses incredible strength. For years, Trevor has looked after his baby brother, keeping him from the light, but now that's all about to change. His family's secret is about to be revealed, uncovering the horrible truth of the small midwestern town the boys have grown up in.
Collected in a deluxe hardcover edition and sized at a generous 9" x 12," Freaks of the Heartland has now been redesigned to perfectly display Ruth's stunning artwork.