Author bio

Author Image

Stephanie Grace Whitson - book author

A native of southern Illinois, Stephanie Grace Whitson has lived in Nebraska since 1975. She began what she calls "playing with imaginary friends" (writing fiction) when, as a result of teaching her four homeschooled children Nebraska history, she was personally encouraged and challenged by the lives of pioneer women in the West. Since her first book, Walks the Fire, was published in 1995, Stephanie's fiction titles have appeared on the ECPA bestseller list numerous times and been finalists for the Christy Award, the Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, and ForeWord Magazine's Book of the Year. Her first nonfiction work, How to Help a Grieving Friend, was released in 2005. In addition to serving in her local church and keeping up with two married children, two college students, and a high school senior, Stephanie enjoys motorcycle trips with her family and church friends. Her passionate interests in pioneer women's history, antique quilts, and French, Italian, and Hawaiian language and culture provide endless story-telling possibilities.

Stephanie Grace Whitson is the author of books: Sixteen Brides, A Most Unsuitable Match, Walks The Fire (Prairie Winds, #1), Secrets on the Wind (Pine Ridge Portraits #1), A Garden in Paris, The Key on the Quilt (The Quilt Chronicles #1), Soaring Eagle (Prairie Winds, #2), A Claim of Her Own, Red Bird (Prairie Winds, #3), Sarah's Patchwork (Keepsake Legacies, #1)

Author Signature

Author Books

Sixteen Civil War widows living in St. Louis respond to a series of meetings conducted by a land speculator who lures them west by promising "prime homesteads" in a "booming community." Unbeknownst to them, the speculator's true motive is to find an excuse to bring women to the fledging community of Plum Grove, Nebraska, in hopes they will accept marriage proposals shortly after their arrival!

Sparks fly when these unsuspecting widows meet the men who are waiting for them. These women are going to need all the courage and faith they can muster to survive these unwanted circumstances--especially when they begin to discover that none of them is exactly who she appears to be.
An unlikely attraction occurs between two passengers on a steamboat journey up the Missouri River to Montana...

She is a self-centered young woman from a privileged family who fears the outdoors and avoids anything rustic. He is a preacher living under a sense of duty and obligation to love the unlovable people in the world. She isn't letting anything deter her from solving a family mystery that surfaced after her mother's death. He is on a mission to reach the rejects of society in the remote wilderness regions of Montana. Miss Fannie Rousseau and Reverend Samuel Beck are opposites in every way... except in how they both keep wondering if their paths will ever cross again.
The Indian thumped his chest and repeated, "Know God here." Opening the fist, he touched his temple. "Need God here. Missionary say this book teach God. You teach."

Captured by the Lakota Sioux on a Nebraskan prairie, Jesse King wonders how she will adjust to life among the Indians. But as she prays for a sustaining faith, she discovers God's tender mercies in her friendship with an Indian woman and in her love for the Sioux brave, Rides the Wind.

Finding an unexpected peace and sense of belonging with the tribe, Jesse learns that the Lakota Sioux have a beautiful culture. And in learning to love the culture, she becomes forever divided between two worlds.

An extraordinary chronicle of a pioneer woman who loves, hurts, and triumphs in her faith, Walks the Fire takes you from a prairie schooner to a teepee, from a frontier fort to a growing young state capitol. The first in a series, Walks the Fire is a tender and beautiful love story, as well as a thrilling adventure.
The Pine Ridge Portraits series opens as two soldiers discover a desperate woman hidden in a cellar, then take her back with them to their U.S. Army post at Fort Robinson. The painful secrets surrounding Laina Gray and her seeming indiffernce toward those who try to help her will touch readers deeply as her journey to faith unfolds. Every effort is made to reach out to this strange, silent woman, but after living through her worst nightmare, she isn???t soon ready to trust anyone with her secrets???not God, and definitely not the handsome soldier who tries to befriend her.
After 26 years as the trophy wife of a powerful man, Mary Davis is both a widow with no sense of identity and a mother who doesn’t know how to bridge the gap between herself and her increasingly distant daughter. When Mary finds a framed motto promising that “It’s never too late to be who you might have been,” she is haunted by the memory of an old flame and guilt over the way things ended between them. In a desperate attempt to reconcile the past and find a new future, Mary returns to Paris, the city where she won and lost her first love. Paris will change everything for Mary and her daughter, in ways neither could imagine.
Enter a historic Nebraskan prison where three women find betrayal, love, and ultimate truth. Jane Prescott is serving a ten-year sentence for murder. Can a broken spirit be healed behind bars? Matron Mamie Dawson feels called to help the wounded women in her charge. Will a guard's attentions keep her from her mission? Warden's wife Ellen Sullivan has changed her preconceptions about these female prisoners. Will it be enough to save her from a life-or-death situation? Will the cryptic quilt connecting their lives expose the truth of one woman's past and ensure a better future for them all?
After the battle of Little Big Horn, newly widowed LisBeth King Baird returns to Lincoln, Nebraska, only to discover that her mother is also gone. Grieving, she must pick up the threads of life and begin again.
Mattie flees from a sinister boss. Is the handsome street preacher - or the suspicious bottle of gold dust from her brother's claim - her future?
Book Three in the Praire Winds Series

All her life Carrie has dreamed of Soaring Eagle. Now all grown up, can Carrie's love survive his new way of life?
Sarah felt something inside let go. No one had ever understood her before, but somehow this woman understood the desperate need that she had...something wound tight inside released a little, enough for her to feel that perhaps--just perhaps--there were people in the world you could trust, after all.

Abandoned at a New York orphanage by their destitute father, Sarah Biddle and her younger brother, Tom, are sent west on an orphan train. But no one wants to adopt a girl with a crippled brother to take care of. Until they reach Lincoln, Nebraska--and come face-to-face with Jesse King and Augusta Hathaway.

Sarah's Patchwork is the absorbing story of quiet, unassuming Sarah Biddle--and the hopes, dreams, tragedies, and romance that she stitches into an heirloom quilt. Each scrap of fabric tells of Sarah's transformation from a frightened orphan girl into a courageous woman of strength and resourcefulness as she stitches..."the tears of the past into a treasure for tomorrow."

Opportunity and disappointment, hardship and loss teach Sarah the reality of biblical truth--and the power of true love to heal the broken heart. Sarah's Patchwork is the first book in the Keepsake Legacies Series and tells the story of Sarah Biddle, first introduced in the bestselling Prairie Winds Series.