Author bio

Author Image

John J. Nance - book author

John J. Nance is an American pilot, aviation safety expert, and author. He served in the USAF during the Vietnam War and also as a Lt. Colonel in Operation Desert Storm.

John J. Nance is the author of books: Pandora's Clock, Final Approach, Orbit, Blackout (Kat Bronsky #2), Lockout, Medusa's Child, The Last Hostage (Kat Bronsky, #1), Turbulence, Headwind, Skyhook

Author Signature

Author Books

#
Title
Description
01
A plane carrying a supervirus searches for a place to land in this “combination of The Hot Zone and Speed” by a New York Times–bestselling author (USA Today).

On a snowy road in a German forest, Ernest Helms sees a man trying to break into his car. After a scuffle, Helms escapes with only a cut on his hand. Hours later, he collapses aboard a flight from Frankfurt to New York. The pilot, Capt. James Holland, radios London to plan an emergency landing to save Helms—and then the nightmare begins.

Heathrow denies Holland permission to land: Helms has been stricken with an ultracontagious pathogen that threatens the entire planet. When Germany also refuses to let him land, Holland and his passengers are prisoners of the sky, caught between a deadly disease and a world that would rather shoot them down than risk contamination.

Written by a former aviator known as the master of mile-high suspense, this is a pulse-pounding thriller about infectious disease in the tradition of Outbreak and The Andromeda Strain. Threatened by hostile governments on the ground and disease in the sky, Captain Holland is in for the flight of his life.
02
SABOTAGE....ACCIDENT....OR MURDER BY OMISSION?

The airline told passengers flying to Kansas City the skies were safe. They lied. On a rain-slashed night, Flight 255 crashes at Kansas City Airport -- triggering one of the most horrifying aviation disasters of the decade. Put simply, it never should have happened. Safety Board investigator Joe Wallingford races to find out why it did.
03
In this "heart-pounding" ("Seattle Post-Intelligencer") aviation thriller, "New York Times" bestselling author John J. Nance ventures forward to 2009, taking readers on a riveting journey of life or death.His once-in-a-lifetime chance...

Disillusioned with his life, when Kip Dawson wins a passenger seat on one of American Space Adventure's commercial spaceflights, it's a dream come true. Although his acceptance of the prize strikes terror in his family, Kip sets off, ready for adventure. But a successful launch quickly morphs into chaos -- a micrometeor punches through the wall of the spacecraft, leaving the radios as dead as the pilot.

...becomes a global fight for survival.

With nothing to do but wait for death, Kip composes his epitaph on the ship's laptop computer. Little does he know an audience of millions would soon discover his cries -- sparking a massive rescue mission in his honor. With no idea the world can hear him, his heroism in the face of death may sabotage his best chance of survival.
04
Minutes after a Boeing 747 rises majestically into a Hong Kong sunset, a flash splits the darkening sky. The pilot - suddenly blinded and doubled over in pain - fumbles in the dark in a frantic effort to gain control as the huge jet shudders through its descent. Kat Bronsky, FBI agent and terrorism specialist, is assigned the hunt for a Challenger-class business jet seen nearby just before the incident. The case poses countless questions: Was the flash a pilot error, a missile attack, or a malfunction? Or was it some new kind of weapon? And why are several government agencies interested in what Kat uncovers?
05
Over the Atlantic in the dark of night, the electronic brain of Pangia Airlines Flight 10 quietly and without warning disconnects all the cockpit controls and reverses course on its own.

The crew of the huge Airbus 330 at first sense nothing, the flight displays still showing them on course to New York. But with puzzled passengers reporting stars on the wrong side and growing alarm over the sudden failure of all their radios – and when armed fighters pull alongside to force them to land – the confused pilots discover that Flight 10 is streaking back toward the hyper-volatile Middle East and there is nothing they can do about it.

With an alphabet soup of federal agencies struggling for answers and messages flying between Washington, and Tel Aviv where the flight began, the growing supposition that Flight 10 may be hijacked is fueled by the presence of a feared and hated former head of state sitting in first class, a man with an extreme Mid East agenda who may somehow be responsible for the Airbus A-330’s loss of control. As frantic speculation spreads, the possibility that the unresponsive airliner could be the leading edge of a sophisticated attack on Iran designed to provoke a nuclear response drives increasingly desperate decisions.

As time and fuel runs low, flying at full throttle toward a hostile border ahead, Captain Jerry Tollefson and First Officer Dan Horneman have to put their personal animosities aside and risk everything to wrest control from the electronic ghost holding them – and perhaps the world – on a course to certain disaster.

And in the “Hole” – as the war room in Tel Aviv is called – the interim Prime Minister of Israel grapples with a horrifying choice in the balance between 300 airborne lives and the probability of nuclear war.
06
He took you on a collision course with disaster in Pandora's Clock

In the high-flying tradition of his extraordinary New York Times bestseller Pandora's Clock, author and aviator John J. Nance launches Medusa's Child, an explosive new thriller that takes to the skies-and takes you to the height of terror.

Now he brings you to the brink of nuclear catastrophe

At 10,000 feet, Captain Scott McKay gets the nerve-shattering news: aboard his Boeing 727 is a ticking time bomb-and not just any bomb. It's the Medusa Project, a thermonuclear monster that could wipe out every computer chip on the continent, obliterating any and all traces of modern technology. Now Scott is flying blind, with nowhere to land and nothing to rely on but his own instincts. And one wrong move could ignite a worldwide apocalypse by unleashing...
07
A demented hijacker...

A master of aviation suspense, author John J. Nance thrilled the country with his explosive bestsellers, Pandora's Clock and Medusa's Child. Now, as only he can do, Nance soars with a gripping new novel about one man in the air and on the brink, and the one woman who can bring him-and a plane full of passengers-down safely...

Or a victim of injustice?

Fugitive pilot Ken Wolfe holds a 737 hostage high above the Rocky Mountains. As the lives of his passengers hang in the balance, Wolfe demands the apprehension and indictment of an unprosecuted killer-within twenty-four hours. Rookie FBI agent Kat Bronsky must tend to his fragile psyche while talking the pilot down and into the hands of the law. But as Wolfe's motives unfold, Kat begins to question who is actually the villain and who is the victim-and time continues to run out on a plane headed for disaster...

Sooner or later, the truth must land.
08
The passengers of Meridian Flight 6 - delayed for hours and mistreated by rude and inept airline personnel - have been pushed to the edge. When Captain Phil Knight makes a forced emergency landing in war-torn Nigeria, abandoning his co-pilot to certain death, violence erupts inside the airplane as the enraged passengers attempt the first-ever commercial airline mutiny.

But what they don't know could kill them: The unscheduled loss of radio contact has led NATO and the CIA to believe they have been hijacked by terrorists and must be carrying a deadly chemical weapon into the heart of Western Europe. In the pressurized last moments as Flight 6 approaches, NATO scrambles to uncover the truth about the plane's cargo, while Navy pilots bring the 747 into their gun sights and the lives of innocent passengers hang in the balance.
09
An ex-U.S. President evades his would-be kidnappers aboard a Boeing 737 in this thrilling new skyborne novel by the bestselling author of Blackout.

Athens, Greece. As a Boeing 737 noses into its gate, its crew is suddenly confronted by Greek officials waiting to arrest one of its passengers, a beloved ex-president of the United States, John Harris. Believing Harris's life is in danger, Captain Craig Dayton stages a daring escape by backing the jet away from the gate without clearance and taking off down a vacant runway.

The dilemma for Captain Dayton and his precious cargo is that Peru has signed an Interpol Warrant for President Harris's arrest, using the same treaty employed by Spain to extradite former Chilean dictator Pinochet. The Peruvian government alleges that Harris is personally responsible for a supposed CIA-led strike against a biological weapons factory during his term of office. But Harris's-and the U.S. State Department's-nightmare is this: There is no place to hide because every nation in the Pan-American federation has signed the treaty and any one of them must honor the warrant and give Peru what it wants: a presidential pawn to humiliate on the international stage.

Captain Dayton flies Harris and his crew on an against-the-clock mission to find a safe haven-from Greece to Sicily to Ireland-while Harris's rumpled and outgunned lawyer wrestles an international team of legal sharks snapping at their biggest prize yet.
10
Skyhook is a top-secret, high-tech computer program designed to save planes in trouble. But when a test flight goes awry over the Gulf of Alaska, Ben Cole, the brains behind the experiment, finds another kind of trouble as he searches for the suspected saboteur.

Meanwhile, April Rosen takes off on her own investigation--to exonerate her father, whose own plane narrowly escaped a midair collision over the same patch of sea.

Now, both of them are in Washington, up against the shadowy forces of a government whose intentions seem far less than honorable. And when their paths cross, the quest to discover Skyhook's real purpose, and real dangers, will unite them in a dangerous fight for the truth.