Author bio

Author Image

Maggie Kay - book author

Maggie Kay grew up in between the picturesque wine region of the Hunter Valley and the magnificent coastlines of Newcastle in Australia. It is the perfect place to raise her three children.

In her spare time you will find her reading and reviewing on her blog: Blushing Book Reviews. She simply cannot survive without her daily dose of coffee, but at night prefers a glass or two of wine to keep her company when I write.

Maggie's hero’s are dark & possessive Alpha Males, Her heroines strong, sassy and full of bite. Together they create a world of passion, pleasure and pain.

Dark Romance is her favourite genre to write.

Maggie's debut novel Truth in Lies Book 1 in the Truth & Lies Duet will be releasing in 2019.

Maggie Kay is the author of books: Truth in Lies (Truth & Lies Duet, #1), Truth in Freedom (Truth & Lies Duet, #2)

Author Signature

Author Books

“Who are you, Olivia?” Only if I stand in her shadow will I truly know who she is, and what she has been through.

She is tortured and broken, lost and all alone.
I have no choice, I am obliged to help her, as a favor to my closest friend.
Now I am burdened with her nightmares, drowning in all her tears.
She is broken, just like me.
Olivia is devastatingly beautiful and undeniably strong, and I fear I have come to need her more than I need my next breath.

“The truth will always haunt me, even though it’s set me free.”
I am trapped in the darkness, buried under a lifetime of lies,
Cole rescued me. He protected me, and he is helping me heal,
but he doesn’t know all of my secrets, the ones that haunt me in my dreams.
I was abandoned and sold into a life that took away all my choices.
Now I know the truth, I can start to make peace with my past, but how can I trust him? How can I open my heart when all I know is pain and betrayal? All I’ve ever known are lies.

Olivia Johansson’s traumatic past has left her not knowing who she is and where she belongs in the world. When Cole Prescott finds her and starts to unravel the truth behind all the years of lies, he tries to gain Olivia’s trust and help her rehabilitate. However, he has his own demons to fight.
If Cole opens up his guarded heart to Olivia, he also opens up the possibility of losing her. Forever.

"The truth in my freedom is written on my soul"

Cole set me free, I am learning to live and breathe without him, but I still feel him all around me. He doesn’t understand that without him, I will always be trapped as prisoner to my own heart.

I am trying to move on and be happy, the music academy is everything I dreamed it would be and more, but I can feel someone watching me. I have this nagging feeling in the pit of my stomach, something bad is about to happen, and there is nothing I can do to stop it.


Olivia is gone. I feel the loss of her everywhere. My heart aches to have her back but my vengeance has taken over me. I will not rest until all those who hurt Olivia have paid the price.

Revenge is sweet, but the bitter sting it leaves in its wake stirs my restless heart.
If Olivia finds out what I have done will she ever want to come back to me? Everything is so messed up I can’t tell where the lies end and the truth begins.

Truth in Freedom is the second book in the Truth & Lies Duet and must be read after Truth in Lies, book one to follow the storyline.