Author bio

Author Image

Linda Brooks Davis - book author

Reared on a farm in South Texas, Linda earned Bachelor's and Master's degrees from Abilene Christian University and Houston Baptist University. She devoted 40 years to students with special needs and reared a daughter and son who are now veterinarians practicing together.

Linda was introduced to the world of publishing in 2007 by winning an essay contest that resulted in the Christian Writers Guild's Writing for the Soul Conference. Subsequently, Gospel Publishing House featured her article "The Choice" in their quarterly publication, LIVE. The article revealed the agonizing choice physicians presented her daughter in her at-risk triplet pregnancy. Linda published articles in two other collections of stories about God's grace.

BOOK 1 in THE WOMEN OF ROCK CREEK series, THE CALLING OF ELLA MCFARLAND, is a romantic historical written from a Christian worldview. Set in 1905, it won the 2014 Jerry Jenkins Operation First Novel contest and ACFW's 2016 Carol Award.

Sequel novella A CHRISTMAS TO REMEMBER picks up with Ella's and Andrew's love story. It's Christmas, 1908.

A second novella, A CHRISTMAS MEASURE OF LOVE, is set in 1910 and is a prequel to Book 2 in The Women of Rock Creek series, THE MENDING OF LILLIAN CATHLEEN.

BOOK 3 in THE WOMEN OF ROCK CREEK series, THE AWAKENING OF MISS ADELAIDE, releases July 9, 2019. It is set in 1918-1919.

Linda Brooks Davis is the author of books: The Calling of Ella McFarland (Women of Rock Creek #1), The Mending Of Lillian Cathleen (The Women of Rock Creek #2), The Awakening of Miss Adelaide (The Women of Rock Creek #3), A Christmas to Remember (Rock Creek Christmas Collection, #1), A Christmas Measure of Love (Rock Creek Christmas Collection #2), A Rock Creek Christmas Novella Collection

Author Signature

Author Books

Ella McFarland sits on the precipice of her life's dream: teaching at Worthington School for Girls. But in the male dominated world of 1905, scandal clouds her family name and may limit her to grueling farm labor in Indian Territory. As hope for Oklahoma statehood rises, a new love buds in her heart, and the woman's suffrage debate rages, Ella encounters an abused sharecropper's daughter, forcing her to make decisions she never imagined about her faith, family, and aspirations. What toll will the turmoil demand of Ella's dream? And what call might God lay on her heart?
1914. While American women are demanding the vote and the first flames of the Great War are igniting Europe, a battle of a different sort rages in Oklahoma. The thermometer registers one hundred six degrees, an out-of-the-ordinary occurrence, even for the twenty-eighth day of July. But this is no ordinary day. The jury has reached a verdict.

Lily fidgets in the old church pew. She's lost enough, given more than her share. Hasn't she? The answer rests in the hands of twelve men. Not a single woman sits among the jurors.

Lily eyes the judge And the courtroom holds its breath.
Orphaned as an infant, Oklahoma heiress Adelaide Fitzgerald has enjoyed every advantage. She possesses a unique gift for music and has excelled on the opera stage in Italy. As a philanthropist, she's adored from America to Europe.

But Miss Adelaide is about to awaken in a 1918 nightmare.

When the "Great War" and the "Great Influenza" knock, Adelaide finds her uninvited guests more than unwelcome. They threaten her life and alter her identity and purpose.

Snatched from a quiet life in an Italian villa, Miss Adelaide is thrust into conflicts others have created. What battle scars will she sustain? And where will love lead her?

In The Awakening of Miss Adelaide, war and peace, laughter and heartache, love and loss come together to ignite a fresh fire that reveals one woman's hidden needs and potentials. 

What will gaining a fresh understanding of herself require of the Angel of the Opera?
Readers first met Ella in the multi-award winning novel 'The Calling of Ella McFarland.' They cheered as feisty Ella battled to raise women from dark places, and they fell in love with Andrew alongside Ella.

In the novella 'A Christmas to Remember' readers revisit Ella and Andrew three years into their marriage. Oklahoma has achieved statehood, and life in the cottage on the banks of Rock Creek has changed.

What could have prepared the couple for the challenges thus far? Or those ahead?

It's Christmas, 1908, and Ella's life is about to be transformed. Again.
Five years after The Calling of Ella McFarland, Lily—an abused girl Ella McFarland rescued in 1905—leaves Oklahoma for the College of Industrial Arts in Denton, Texas. Returning home for Christmas a different young woman, she wonders if others will notice the changes. But she never imagines what's waiting for her in the old sharecropper shack on the other side of Rock Creek.
Two novellas in one: A Christmas to Remember, set in 1908, and A Christmas Measure of Love, set in 1910. In the 1905 novel, The Calling of Ella McFarland, readers first meet Ella McFarland and fall in love with her Andrew. In A Christmas to Remember, readers peek into Ella's and Andrew's life in their cottage on the banks of Rock Creek. Three years into their marriage, Ella's life is about to be transformed ... again. In A Christmas Measure of Love, Lily returns to life along Rock Creek for her first Christmas as a grown woman. But she's in for a Yuletide surprise she hasn't reckoned on. A Rock Creek Christmas Collection combines the two novellas in one paperback edition.